Our staff

With around 300 children currently on roll, the School is split into 11 classes, from Nursery to Year 6. Each class has its own full-time teacher, and is also supported by our dedicated and experienced team of teaching assistants.

Leadership Team:

  • Miss E Shaw, Headteacher. Miss Shaw has been teaching for 22 years, 16 of which have been at Bedwell. After 13 years as Deputy Headteacher, she became our Headteacher in September 2018. She is in charge of everything in school and is determined to provide a safe, happy, supportive place to learn for every child.
  • Mr D Roberts, Deputy Headteacher. Mr Roberts joined Bedwell when he first qualified, 17 years ago, and has slowly worked his way up to the post of Deputy Headteacher. His role currently includes leadership of reading and computing.
  • Mrs K Draper, Assistant Headteacher. Mrs Draper has taught across Keystage 2 over the last 10 years, and has supported many of our staff in developing their practice and completing further qualifications. She leads on writing, spelling and PSHE as well as supporting School Council and coordinating many of our fundraising and community events. 
  • Mr R Whitehouse, SENCo. Mr Whitehouse joined Bedwell a year ago, taking on the role of Special Needs Coordinator. He brings a wealth of knowledge and experience built up across a range of schools from Hertfordshire to Dubai, and we're really looking forward to the new ideas and energy he will bring to this crucial position.     

"Staff are very proud to work at Bedwell Primary School. There is a tangible sense of teamwork and commitment throughout the school."

Ofsted report, 2022

Our teachers
  • Nursery - Mrs K Stagg 
  • Reception - Miss S Pateman, Mrs C Hosten-White & Mrs A Humber
  • Fieldmice - Mrs H Wren 
  • Dormice - Mrs R Devenish
  • Hedgehogs - Mrs J Jackson
  • Rabbits - Mr D Humber & Mr P Lester
  • Moles - Miss M Smith & Mrs S Rose 
  • Badgers - Miss M Wood
  • Foxes - Mr D Roberts
  • Falcons - Miss K Draper
  • Eagles - Mrs K Thomas
  • PE teacher - Mr T Butler 
Teaching assistants
  • Mrs C Anderson
  • Mrs R Avis 
  • Miss A Bartlett 
  • Miss L Davies 
  • Miss M Davis 
  • Mrs M Hill 
  • Miss S Holden 
  • Mrs D Linsdell 
  • Mrs D Malcolm 
  • Mrs C Mooney 
  • Mrs C Moore 
  • Mrs S Nicholls 
  • Mrs D Prosho 
  • Mrs W Sewell  
  • Miss F Smithers   
  • Ms M Stanton 
  • Mrs G Wall-Nash 
  • Mrs M Woods
Admin, cleaning & MSAs 
  • Miss D Baker  
  • Mrs M Bratherton 
  • Miss L Garratt
  • Mrs R Khanom 
  • Mrs L Lindfield
  • Miss L Lindfield 
  • Mr C Moses 
  • Ms C Rolfe 
  • Mrs K Stanley
  • Mrs D Stott